Future Visualization Tool

We have been evaluating UE4 for visualization at work.

We are a Architecture Firm that develops destinations. The work we produce is similar in scope to Disney Imagineering, so the end product is painterly and fantastic. Upon my evaluation of UE4, I was able to import all my 3DS max assets from an existing animation and create something that truly made me consider UE4 as unifying tool for our studio. What we achieved in a few days has everyone around here very excited. I will add that I am a veteran game developer, so understanding the game development pipeline certainly helped.

What am missing? Currently, I am preparing for a meeting with the CEO to share my findings. Anything you can add in terms of a discussion would help.

The only issue as far as archviz goes is that usually something that’s designed for that purpose isn’t designed to work well in a game engine. if you’re doing still renders, it’s not a bit deal because even though it’s not efficient then it’s still pretty fast. If you’re doing walkthroughs or something like that that needs to play in real-time then you’d have to make sure that your assets are optimized. That can be a big difference in workflow if you’re used to doing renders in 3ds Max where you don’t have to worry so much about poly count or lightmap UV’s and things like that.

Have you thought about how VR solutions like the Occulus Rift might benefit visualization of your work? Being able to actually walk the property and “see” it in real 3D might be a benefit to your clients…

I’m more of a CG artist who generalizes than someone interested just in games development and what I find exciting is just how much tech going into UE4 that aligns with the ideals of 3d design in general.