Future of UE4 on Android?

Hi,

I’m new to UE4 and probably kind of a typical indy mobile developer. I’m currently looking around for an engine to develop mostly 2D/3D casual free2play or ads mobile games. UE is known to me as a high end PC engine and I would have no doubts about using it for this market.

But concerning mobile games I’m seriously confused about what UE4 wants to accomplish and where it is heading? Even 5 Months after the initial release.

In free2play and ads, everything is about mass markets and retention. Losing too many players instantly kills a game as the game will quickly bleed out. Every percent in installs counts. In the very competitive markets today, it’s hard to reach the required numbers. Considering this and looking at only 3 officially tested Android devices (of which one isn’t even marked as “Supported” but “Expected”) and just a few high end mobile GPUs supported, I see UE4 is quite far away from prime time. Sending >95% of android users away because their device is not compatible is just not an option at all for production. (Not to talk about receiving bad reviews and being flooded with support inquiries)

Reading through the forums, I can see that the developers are working on more devices and optimizing performance. But I cannot determine what the goal and estimated timeframe may be, even the comments in here are fairly confusing.

There is nothing at all wrong with UE being a high end engine and supporting only high quality games for high end devices. I see how UE4 could get there in the future. It’s just that f2p or ads are a different thing than full price high end games. In development as well as in marketing.