Furious Elegance - Ev & Barrett Showdown

Title: Ev & Barrett Showdown

Video URL: ( Dropbox - Furious Elegance - Ev & Barrett Showdown.mov - Simplify your life )

Student Submission: No

Credits to sourced content:

Screenshot of project in-editor:

Description / backstory to the piece / feedback around the challenge:

This is my first Unreal challenge, and I decided to do a (significantly truncated) scene from a script I’m working on.

There were a ton of things I wanted to try with this: seeing how many Metahumans I could realistically fit in a cinematic (300+ in the crowd for this scene), designing armor and clothes for the first time and learning that pipeline/process, Cloth Physics (ultimately failed), the new Metahuman Animator (flat lighting is SUPER important), actually scoring a scene (I’ve been a musician for most of my life, but have never actually scored something), and most of all, get a feel for what this process will look like once I start production for this series in full. Long way to go, but this was such an enlightening experience.

I have a much more realistic understanding of what this process will require now, and also realize that it’s totally achievable! It’ll be a lot of hard work, and will likely require a team of dedicated individuals to work with, but it is absolutely possible.

There was one shot with focus issues that reared its ugly head on the LAST day, of course. I suspect it has to do with the camera cut, but I ensured it was set to the correct Camera as well as the correct length and that the keyframes lined up. I have no idea why it didn’t work on the final export, although a test showed that removing the Render Camera Cut Warm Up setting fixed the issue, while causing a host of other issues. And only for this one shot! Every other camera cut was set up the same way. So weird.