From zero to character/actor

First up, I do not expect to be handed everything on a silver plater. I know what I am asking is a bit much, probably, so even if it is just what to search (google is my friend) or where to go, I would greatly apreciate it.
I am new to the whole development thing and I do not know what to even search to find what I need to learn.

I know how to make this :

(not my own creation - I take no credit for it)

My problem is: How do you get to a fully animated character in UE4 from here.
If I remember correctly you can texture and animate something in Maya (?)(not tried yet, correct me if I am wrong), so do you import already animated meshes to Unreal to make the character or do you animate it there, and how?
Any additional newbie info and help, I would gladly accept.

P.S. I have played around the get started tutorials in the UE4 documentation and know C++. Just letting you know.

Creating a character is a pretty long, tedious, and a task that requires a lot of experience to make it go smoothly.

With that said! The only way to get that experience is by doing the long, tedious work over and over until you get it right. Let’s start with terminology:

Character = Skeletal Mesh (in UE4) - This is anything with a rig/bones that allow you to manipulate how it moves, or animate it
Prop/Model = Static Mesh (in UE4) - This is a non-moving (static) object that doesn’t animate. No bones/rig is needed.
Texture = 2DTexture (in UE4) - This is a simple, flat, 2D painting you make using Photoshop or GIMP, or MS Paint. What you see is what you get.
Material = Material (in UE4) - This is NOT the same thing as a Texture. This is a graph of mathematics that TELL the Unreal or Maya HOW to display a texture. This adds shine, depth, glowing effects, panning effects, blending effects, all kinds of things.
UV Map & UVing - 3D Coordinates Converted into 2D Coordinates so you know what you’re painting on a texture.