Fresh UE 4.25.3 install... Is this normal? How can you all stand this?

I’m switching from Unity, and I’ve always heard UE has some pretty crazy build times, but as a full-time C/C++/CUDA engineer myself, I’m not afraid of that. My own commercial project takes 25 minutes to build.

But… this is absolutely ridiculous. I just closed and attempted to re-open one of my projects (small test project, just has a couple cubes, based off First-Person example project), and it’s taking 30-45 minutes to just compile shaders. After only closing and opening a project.

I mean look at this, over 5,000 shaders! From a simple, no-content project! I have maybe 4 materials!

bTjTmlT.png

It’s been doing this for 30 minutes now, at 100% CPU utilization! I just want to work on my project, but I can’t. Can’t even browse the internet because my machine is so bogged down. And I have a 5 Ghz 6-P/12-L core machine, with 32 GB of 3200 Mhz DDR4 memory.

Unity took maybe 2 minutes to load a very complex project. I don’t understand why UE4 is doing this. Why must it completely recompile shaders every time a project is loaded, and why are there thousands of them?

Have I configured something incorrectly? I basically just used the Wizard to create an empty FPS project. How can I prevent UE4 from having to recompile every shader under the sun every time a project is loaded?