FPS System

Hey,
so since this is my first post here and also my first submission and really a lot of firsts (first time blueprinting and animating), I’m gonna make this post a little less formal.

Most interesting thing for you are the links, so here goes that.

**Marketplace:

FPS System: FPS Starter in Blueprints - UE Marketplace

SciFi Weapons: **SciFi Weapons in Weapons - UE Marketplace

Demonstration Video:

**Showcase Video: **

**Small Background: **

I usually just create hard surface models, but I wanted to see my guns animated and useable until I finally decided to learn some blueprinting. I had 0 knowledge about it and just followed the official tutorials, documentations, the discord chat and the great tutorials on youtube from guys like Mathew Wadstein, Sam Jones, Caleb Hooper, Jonas Mølgaard and SG Creation. So huge shoutout to them and you should check them out.

Now, since this is my first time, I didn’t want to go too big and do an entire system with Multiplayer and what not. Instead this is more focused on the essential features that are important for a first person shooter. But those should work flawlessly. Of course, people tend to underestimate the size of a project and so did I. It took me roughly 2-3 month to learn BP, animating and creating the weapons as well as experimenting. I have to say that blueprinting can be quite frustrating when you have something really simple in mind, but can’t get it to work. But eventually you do and that’s quite satisfying.
I think this might be different from other FPS Blueprints, because I don’t come from a scripting background. You see, what I often noticed is that the functionality was often there (like reloading adds bullets), but when you would apply actual animations this becomes janky or creates a whole new set of problems. But my blueprints are created with that in mind because I did the whole process from a-z. I think that you can see that it is working quite well in the Showcase video.