forza controls ?

I want to set up controls just like Forza where the car can move independent of the camera and the camera can rotate without turning the car.

So arrow keys turn car while mouse turns camera.

please help. I’m new to Unreal 4.

I’m trying to set up controls where my mouse turns the player forward left right etc. but the camera can rotate freely like a free look kind of thing.
The camera should follow the player but rotate independently. Any help please.

Hi there, I did something similar to recently, here is how I set it up:

is a custom event I created to move the camera back to behind the vehicle:

With that created I called the event any time the camera was moved or the car steering was changed:

In the second picture I have renamed the “LookUp” and “LookRight” (not sure the exact names) input events to be “Camera Pitch” (look up/down) and “Camera Yaw” (rotate left/right).

The custom event contains a “Nearly Equal (Float)” node for each of the axes with an error tolerance of 0.05 degrees, once the value gets to point it is not necessary to keep updating the camera position, you would never notice the difference and it saves from having to calculate any further. Also the Pitch is multiplied by -1 to get the correct rotation results.

Also make sure you have “Use Control Rotation” turned ON for the SpringArm component.

Hope that helps! :slight_smile:

how do you add a “Add Pin” node ? I’ve seen them but don’t know how to get them.

one is connected to the “camera axis rotate” node and “get world delta seconds” node in last picture here in the lower left side of the screen.

Thank you soo much for , I will try .

Thats a Multiply(Float * Float) node.