Forward trace is returning false positives?

Hi,

I’m a complete beginner when it comes to blueprints. I can’t code. I’m not a programmer. So forgive me if I mess up any terminology here.

I’m working on a tiny first person adventure game which only requires a simple interaction with a small variety of objects. I’ve set up a trigger box around the asset that displays a message in the viewport to press E to interact. I followed a couple of tutorials and hashed together a forward trace set up for when E is pressed another message appears. It’s placeholder for now while I figure the technology out. I created an interact interface and have implemented that into the blueprint. However, when E is pressed and the forward trace hits absolutely anything in the scene, the message pops up on the screen. I have no clue what I’ve done wrong. I’ve followed a couple of different tutorials independently with the same results.

Here’s some screengrabs of the Forward Trace and Interactable Object blueprint.

Can you show the code for the trace?

You send an Interact message to an object, and that objects decides to do something about it.

So it’s probably a matter of moving the top bit to the actor.

Otherwise actors that implement the interface currently do nothing about it. And then whatever was hit creates a widget.

Have a look at my non-green answer here:

I posted it not so long ago, it demonstrates the kind of interaction that you’re after (and more!). And there’s a project link so you can get hands-on with it.

It’s hard to tell how you set things up; but generally speaking, you implement an interface on an actor, that interface gives that actor a bunch of functions. You call the interface and the actor executes its own version of that function. Simplifying but that’s the gist.

Here’s the minimum that you’d need for the interface to work:

• create an interface in the Content Browser - here called MyInterface and have an Interact function there

In the player blueprint: