For those new to Unreal

First question: What is the quickest and most efficient way to master Unreal Engine 4?

I do believe that’s one step shy of asking what the meaning of life, the universe and everything is…

Yes I expected such an answer. The question still remains though. It is asked by those who are overwhelmed by the massive amount of information you have to absorb learning to tame this beast. The question is aimed at those who have mastered unreal or come as close as you can get to mastering it. This is also asked by people who don’t program so a deep understanding of visual scripting is required. Experienced unreal users think back to when this engine was foreign to you. What helped you on the path to unreal greatness?

Question 2: Art assets? Blender, Maya, 3D Studio ? Marketplace Packages?

I am a one man team but I am incorporating my studio and soon adding a motion capture studio complete with facial expression capture tech. I have limited experience in with the Blender and Maya. Although I am currently devoting roughly 16 hours a day to developing this first project I don’t have the resources or know how to make truly visually stunning art assets to populate the levels. I plan on expanding and hire artists and programmers but at the moment this vision is driven by one individual. Twelve years ago I dropped out of school where I was learning game art and design. I have quit everything else and am devoting all my time and resources to creating compelling virtual worlds because it’s the only thing that makes me happy. This thread is for those who need lots of help achieving their dream of being a game developer.

1. learning the basics with the videos + directly start with a small project (learning by doing) :slight_smile:
  2. it depends on your personal preferences which 3d program you use (I like blender). You can buy marketplace assets for your game, but it wont be so unique.