For Each Loop not setting integer parameter for Meta Sound correctly

Hey there,

I’m still pretty new with Unreal Engine and game development as a whole, so please excuse my ignorance if this issue is pretty obvious.

I’ve been trying to set up an “Animal Crossing” talk system that receives a string, that then splits it into each character, to then compare it to a character library/dictionary (which is just an array that has the same indexes as an array set up in a Meta Sound), that then passes all of these to a Meta Sound.

I’ve set up a for each loop that I added a delay to (so after every loop it has a delay before the next, so the audio doesn’t all play at once) which is supposed set an integer input to the Meta Sound. This appears to all work inside the blueprint itself, but as soon as it gets to the Meta Sound it seems to sporadically set the incorrect integer.

This is the correct strings that are printed from the blueprint (prints inverted to the log).
Screenshot 2024-03-08 at 15.58.08

And this is what the Meta Sound prints into the Log .

It appears to have set the very first one to the incorrect character/index and added an additional one at the end.

If continue it with more words/characters it ends up mostly working but then missing some completely.

Is this an issue with the Meta Sound receiving the Integers? It seems to work within the blue print, it just doesn’t work in the Meta Sound.

This is the set up of the initial compare to array then set index.

This is the set up of the loop and setting parameter.

Thank you!

Your delayed for loop might work, but if you’re calling it from a cascade of other loops that aren’t waiting, you’ll basically get a pile of rubbish :slight_smile:

You’re probably getting all the initial values from your waiting loop would generate in quick succession, followed by a random load of rubbish.

So, the recommendation is, run all the loops except your delay loop first to make the output array, then run your special loop.