"Flickering Panels" while Rendering Point Clouds from LiDAR (.las)

Hi everyone

I’m a complete novice with Unreal Engine and 3D modelling in general. I’ve recently started trying to learn photogrammetry and am particularly interested with importing point clouds created in Agisoft Metashape (.las files) into Unreal Engine (or other software) with the goal of making animated videos. I’ve been teaching myself with some help from friends and random tutorials/online documentation.

So far, I’ve gotten to the point where I can import dense clouds, create a scene, and render to video; however, I’m running into a persistent problem where squares of the point cloud flicker in and out of view in the final render/export. (see my sample video). Sample Video

I’ve done some troubleshooting and experimented with things I’ve read could be the problem: global distance value; occlusion distance value in global settings; scale bounds and z-values; building lights - but I’ve gotten to the point where I’m out of ideas and out of my element.

I suppose another question I have at this point is: Is there a different piece of software that would allow me to import point cloud data and render video from it?

If anyone here knows what’s going wrong or can point me in the right direction, I’d appreciate it. Thanks

1 Like

looks like particle sorting order issue or something with particle culling you could try the new movie render queue stuff and render out different passes to try to pinpoint what the issue is

Did you figure out why this flickering occurred? I’m having the same issue with my lidar scans, and can’t figure out how to fix, or minimise this effect.

1 Like

+1 here. I’m experience the exact same pattern of glitching/flashing and have been seeking a solution all week with no luck. I’ve tried varying all options of the plugin settings and testing in the editor as well as packaged versions of the game for Linux + macOS.

1 Like

+1 Here! Can’t get rid of it…

Same trouble here