First UE4 Vignette - Runoff

In the work in progress forums I had a thread running on my first UE4 project. Well I think it is done, a visual scene based off an older UT2k4 map I made.

Here is the original:

And here is the same scene re imagined in UE4

I also made a small video showcasing the making of from initial concept to final design.

comments and feedback welcomed. I am still learning UE4, most of it is similar to UE3 but still plenty of differences too! :slight_smile:

Great Job man! love it!

So purdy! Love what you have done with it.

looks awesome! @JustinSA so great to see a fellow South African other then myself also working with Unreal Engine 4 xD I thought I was like the only 1 haha!

That looks pretty **** cool!

Dude that’s sick! Love the way you did the lighting and reflections.

Hm like the way you set it up too. Those weren’t ALL BSP blocks, were they?

Oh no, I swapped out all the BSP with mesh only used it as a frame to get started.

I am very new to the all this, of course like many, but I love UE’s new model and I just happen I guess to be around close to the start. So I mean no offense.

I have 1 major question which is below, but many observations before and follow ups; first being the logical flow and layout seems very confusing; an escalator, but a grate that allows legs to fall through (would love a broken glass look for the floor right there, to allow imagination at least or something else); it’s called runoff but there are trashcans; there are pictures on the wall; there are so many inconsistencies.

Please don’t get me wrong, it looks beautiful. I just think it’s (in a harsh sense) like if I were to paint a head on a pike behind the Mona Lisa and expect the same results. It looks nice, but that’s not the point.

My question is why change it dramatically so much from the start? I thought the first one made more sense. No windows, no horrible engineering (pipes). Etc.