First time user - need advice on UV maps and custom assets

Hello fellas, I’m completely new to creating assets for game engines, and after some consideration I ended up getting Unreal Engine 4. I’ve been lurking around YouTube for some time, looking for and at tutorials.

Earlier I’ve modeled some cabins, houses, some airport terminals and hangars. And as a lecture to myself, I’d like to try to get these into UE4, and find a (or understand an existing) good workflow that makes sense to me.
So far, a building have been made as a complete object that consists of several UV maps. However, I’m not sure I understand how UV maps in UE4 works. And please correct me.

One object can have

• one UV Map for textures
  • one UV Map for light maps

Correct? I cannot have multiple UV maps per object?

So let’s say I have a huge hangar with 4-6 different materials, ranging from brick and concrete to glass and different metals in air ducts, doors etc.
I’ve made some tests with one of the buildings, and a couple of simple boxes with and without cut out holes. But I cannot seem to get my head around this.

I model in centimeters and meters in LightWave, and assign different surfaces different names so they are separated from each other in UE4. I generate a UV Maps and import the object to UE4.

When I apply a material to the object, the material is HUGE.

Here’s the UV Map.

So I went out to investigate a little. And out of curiosity, I scaled the polygons on the UV map so they are way to big to the bounds of the UV map. See the image attached - you can barely see the black lines indicating the lower values of the UV map in the center of the image.
77d57a854b.png

What happened then was this…

Is this the way to go, or am I doing something really wrong? If so, where do I go wrong, and how to I deal with that?

Later on, I’d like to learn about modular building blocks so I can create buildings with the flexibility of making them in the editor.