First time Modder!

So, this is my first attempt at making a mod and while I may ask for help later (after I’ve tinkered a bit, maybe broke a few things!), I’m more looking for guidance and/or information. I’m not even sure I need to make a mod to do some of this as I know much of it can be done in the .ini files.

I am not looking to reinvent the wheel with my mod. I merely want to change certain aspects of the current game to make it more challenging and more rewarding. Here goes:

1. Remove the high tech - basically a primitive server; however, I want the high tech items to drop from higher level beacons and as an admin I want to be able to spawn them in so I can place them in caches I manage and also use them in events on my server. This should be a fairly easy change (assumption!).

2. I want dinos to be much tougher, but tame quicker. Eat much more too.

3. While I like the PvP aspect of the game and I find that playing on a PvE server removes much of the challenge - I’m not a fan of the people who flatten whole bases for the fun of it. With that in mind, I want to make certain structures much tougher, while making others weaker (dunno about this).

4. New items - skinning knife (used to get hide) and butchers knife (used to get meat) and remove those things from the hatchet and pick. Not sure why this isn’t already a thing. :stuck_out_tongue:

Pretty sure only 3 and 4 will require a mod to be made, while 1 and 2 can be done via .ini. Thoughts, suggestions, etc etc!

All of that requires a mod. My exposure to the Ark Dev Kit is recent so take anything I say with a grain of salt, but the first 3 should be simple variable edits. #4 isn’t significantly harder depending on your experience, but will take some time, and patch 185.