First person shooting game without coding

Hello,

A couple of years ago I started to develop a simple FPS game using cryengine and had to stop because at that time there was no proper tool for blender exporting. Now I want to back to game industry. I’m a freelance artist and there are no time to study coding (c++, java etc) but have a little knowledge about c++.
I just download the unreal engine launcher and going to to install UE4. I’m planning to create a simple FPS game like killing enemies and completing missions etc for fun or maybe sell. My question is, can I do that without coding but using blueprints? Thanks

absolutely!

btw - blueprints is really coding just with boxes and lines instead of words.

You still have to use logic to design the game and learn the underlying engine API.

but no semi-columns required!

There are tons of tutorials - good luck!

Hi code7,

Short Answer: YES!

Long Answer:

That is what Blueprints was designed for. So Game Designers can design game mechanics without coding. I’ve been learning the ins and outs of Blueprints for the past Two years and there only a handful of features not accessible via BPs. You can get started using them today here. Run in to difficulties? Ask questions here.

I’m developing a FPS with similar goals as You, using modular Architecture and Entities to customize everything. For the past 2 months, I’ve been developing a Multi-user Collaborative World & Entity Construction / Customization System to make this happen.

I think First-person is completely under utilized in FPS games. The Arms-only Days are over in my opinion. Thus, I’m going for a Full-body True First Person with a 8 Vintage Points in First Person. I call this V8 Perspective:

1. Full-Bodied Awareness
  2. Full-Body w/ Independent Cam Control
  3. Arm and Weapon Only Corner-View, Locked View w/ Free Arm and Weapon Movement
  4. Hand and Weapon Only Corner|Center View
  5. Reticle/Cursor Only