First person platformer

I am just starting out learning how to use UE4 and am new to game design. I started a first person platformer games a couple days ago and this is most of what I have done so far.
The game will support oculus rift.
Most of the meshes and textures are placeholders and will(hopefully) be a lot better by the time I finish my game.
The game will have 2(maybe 3) types of collectibles, one that there are many(50-100) scattered around the levels and one that there are a few(5ish) hidden around the level/reward for chellenges.

?v=ron2wScLUCA

Oh man, I’m terrible at games like this :smiley: You’ve gotten a long way on this! awesome work.

My only suggestion would be to hint to the player about the plank that falls. The round platforms which flip over, you did a good job of treating different visually so the play understands “hey I need to observe what’s happening here” Give the player some hint about the plank as well, so they can be rewarded for being observant. Really nice work.

Thanks!
I was thinking about maybe having the falling boards shake every second or so.

Here is the exact same video but with music I made last night after I uploaded the video.
?v=ron2wScLUCA

Hi Jay Turns. Looks like you have a great start on a FPS Platformer. First-Person Platformers are notoriously known for being extremely frustrating, due to the lack of depth perception. Oculus Support coupled with Full-Body Awareness, could be a winning combination for FP Platformers. There are few FP Platform Games (only Mirror’s Edge comes to mind) and believe theres plenty of room to innovate controls, movement techniques, etc to make it work well.

Good Luck

Thanks!
Mirrors edge is really the only game I can think of that is a first person platformer(kind of). There really aren’t many, but as you said, the lack of depth perception can definitely be frustrating, leading to developers not wanting to make this type of game.