Feeling overwhelmed - main character blueprint

So I just shelled out the money for the third person starter pack on the UE4 markteplace. I figured it would jump start my effort for creating my main character blue print. Up until now I had a placeholder character with some basic functionality (walk, look, jump). When I opened up the character blueprint to see all that is at work I was just like holy **** this is intense. I don’t even know where to begin, I’m an artist not a programmer (yeah I know BP is as easy as it gets). Any advice on how to start? is it really as complicated as the hundreds of nods and wires makes it seem?

Hi DarkInigma,
I have not seen the BP’s from the TP Starter Pack but all I can suggest is that you spend some time familiarising yourself with the BP and really try to understand what is in there at the moment.
Also, if thisis the pack you bought, there is meant to be a demo level ‘explaining everything about the blueprint’?

Hi.
Blueprints are not much difficult. I learned good enough blueprints in 2 months… if you want to be very familiar with blueprints, do , it will learn you everything about blueprints (may take 100-200 hrs to complete)

I think it’s easier to try and learn from scratch, through trial and error - rather than buying a complete package and trying to understand why and how things are set up. Yes, it will take more time - but you’ll be familiar with your own setup as you were the one setting it up.

Start small, and go from there. There aren’t really any shortcuts :rolleyes:

Yeah agreed . The trouble with buying packs and understanding the code is you have to understand the mind of the developer that made them . Why did they use this node here , why did he call this variable this , why does this function have this input etc . This is a skill that unfortunately you build up over time .