Feedback - importing from Blender

Hey Guys,

I have to say thanks a ton for releasing UE4 for free - I couldn’t have afforded the subscription for the long journey of learning!

I’ve been a Blender artist for around a decade now and have been working for some small games here and there - always wanting to create my own games. Now I feel with UE4 I could make it - even as a single person.

My biggest problems are around the import of meshes - for me it’s a error-prone and time consuming process. I know from other game engines how game objects need to be set up, still there are a lot of pitfalls with UE4 / Blenders exporter. Using Blenders exporter often fails completely for no apparent reason, just to work on the second try without any changes. Using Autodesks converter (Blender -> 3DS -> Autodesk -> FBX) kills the smoothing groups.
Another problem for me includes the lightmapping for polygon-rich objects, no UV overlapping allowed, but too small, non-overlapping UVs still throw an overlapping error. These and more problems, combined with the relativly slow speed of the importer just consumes a lot of time.

Could it be possible to write an exporter with Python in Blender for a more native UE4 format? If this transition, preferably both ways, worked more seemles, man Blender + UE4 would be a ridiculously powerfull toolset.

Anyway, you’re doing an awesome job and I’m happy everyday to have the opportunity to learn and play with UE4.

CU!

I haven’t messed with blender trying to export to UE4, but UE4 also supports .obj which I would think should work for static meshes as well.

Which blender version are you using? 2.75 has fairly decent fbx exporter, which supports multiple texture coordinates among other things. I certainly haven’t ever seen this thing fail.

Would you mind uploading some simple example that causes problems?