[Feature Request] Point Cache animation support

Hiya guys :slight_smile:

I’m working on a Facerobot rig , (Autodesk XSI Softimage) with tons of facial animation - currently, and if we could import into UE4 the vertex animation as point cache, it would save me weeks of work. FBX can already hold point cache data, and I’m sure it would free up lots of other calculations that need to be made for bones.
I’m no expert on bone verses vertex animation, but just thinking “outside the box” it seems like a good idea :wink:
Correct me if I’m wrong and let me know what the technical infeasibility is, ( if any) :cool:

I actually started playing with this a few months back, you can probably find that work in the source somewhere! The problem I ran into was that FBX point cache support does not include normal information, which would have made it less useful for animating meshes. The other big challenge would be compressing all that data after you import it :slight_smile:

Wow, really James :slight_smile:
I’ll get my code man to have a look.

I’m assuming then that point cache is difficult to compress? I’m going to drop a request into Autodesk about adding normal info in FBX, ( I pay them god knows how much cash every year for their software :D) …
Funny thing is, if you 7-zip an FBX file containing point cache data, (or bog standard animation) it dramatically shrinks the file size. So something in 7-zip’s algorithm manages to compress that data with no visible loss of performance on the animation side, once decompressed. It doesn’t work with windows zip though, as the file size stays almost the same.

Thanks,
Dave

Has this been solved yet? I have the same issue.