FBX Joint Renamer - anyone interested?

Hi all,

I’ve just made a quick FBX joint renaming tool - i.e. you give it a config file containing the old names, and the new names, and it outputs an FBX with the new names.
Is anyone else interested in this? I realised that it may be useful to more than just me, and I’m wondering if it’s worth cleaning it up and documenting it for a public release. Thoughts?

I followed this tutorial, and spent painstaking minutes remapping all the joints.

As a programmer, I thought: ‘There has to be a better way’. So I made one!

Downloads and instructions here

Added an example mixamo advanced rig -> UE4 advanced rig mapping file . Just copy this over the jointmap.cfg file, and any mixamo character should be automatically UE4’ed.

I’d love it. I’m a programmer and a lone wolf dev, so I have to fiddle with art problems constantly. I hate messing with art packages to fix issues like this, so a way to do it with a little more automation would be awesome.

Perfect - I’ll package it up and release the source on github.

I’ll prepare a few binaries for popular OSs as well.

Wow man … yes please … Lone Wolf here as well … thank you very much for this. 8-}

Hi all,

OK, the tool is ready to go. You can grab it at GitHub. Click the ‘Download Zip’ button. The tool is in the Debug folder.

Complete source is included, or you can just use the prebuilt executable.

Operation is super simple:

1. Place your input FBX in the Debug folder
  2. Run FBXTest.exe filename.fbx (where filename is your fbx file)
  3. Edit the jointmap.cfg file. Syntax is one joint per line, with the old and new joint name seperated by an equals sign - e.g. myOldJointName=myNewJointName.
  4. Joints without an old to new mapping will be ignored (not renamed)
  5. Output will go to output.fbx

Enjoy!

Any feature requests? Couple of things in the works:

1. Prebuilt config files (or options) for Mixamo->UE4, Brekel->UE4, MakeHuman->UE4 etc…