FBX Import with hierarchy

Hi folks,

I’m completely new to UE4, so maybe this is a quite stupid question. But I’ll ask anyhow.

I have a model in 3DSMax which consists of a hierarchy of objects. In fact, it’s a conveyor composed of a frame and rolls which will transport whatever is lying on top of them.

Now what I want to do is: Import this model to UE4 while still being able to select and transform (in this case: rotate) it’t child objects.

Is there any way to do so?

Thanks in advance and best regards,

You can import it as a static mesh and uncheck Combine Meshes in advanced, then you will get every object as a seperate static mesh and can re-assemble the hierarchy in the editor.

You can also import it as a skeletal mesh and check Import Rigid Mesh, then you will get a skeletal mesh that uses your object hierarchy as skeleton. You’d have to use blueprint (or code) or animations to rotate the specific parts though.

Thanks for your reply,

the import as a rigid mesh seems to be the way to go, even if I have to find out how to do some rotation from code.
But there’s one thing: When I import the mesh this way, all the pivot points of my child elements are wrong (even if they are set correctly within 3DSMax), so there’s no way to make an object rotate around it’s own center. Is this an user error or do I have to fix this somewhere on the way from Max to UE4?

Make sure the conveyor’s frame is set to 0,0,0, then make sure all the rolls have their pivot points set to their center and then link them all to the frame. Finally select all and export.

Did that. I made the frame, adjusted it’s pivot to where I want it to be, then added the rolls, placed their pivots in their centers and then used the “select and link” to link them to my frame. Result in UE4: Pivot of conveyor is correct, the rolls’ pivots are way off (translated many meters in x direction)…