Fbx import results different (broken) in 4.10 vs 4.9.2

Hey guys,
first actual post into the forum, and unfortunately it already seems to be related to bug report or feedback of a currently unexpected behavior:

Im just starting to learn UE and everything related to game Dev so I guess many times its just my inexperience with the whole topic. Tho im not new to CG as a whole. (Im a lead character TD for film vfx as a daytime job)
So im currently working on this little project game to learn all this and started with 4.9.2 very recently. I have my own rigs that I wanted to get into the engine, they have plenty of extra joints to improve deformation quality. That bit was pretty easy and the engine took my heavy rigs quite well. So on friday I bought this big movement animation package from the marketplace and retargeted it to my maya rig for re-export back onto my own skeleton (It needs to go through maya for all the auxiliary joints) All of that worked perfectly fine, I only did a quick automated batch retarget so most of the animations need some proper polishing by a real animator, but it worked for my purposes, everything went fine into UE4 and I was happy working on some character motion controller and all that fun… BUT NOW! …

A few days ago I switched to 4.10 and kept working on that… today I decided to edit my current jump loop animation as I was using the one from the UE4 3rd person project which didnt match my other animations. So I go to maya to grab one of the jump starts from the pack as a starting point … do my thing and set some keys … retarget and export the rig like I always do (wrote some python utilities to automate that) and try bringing that fbx back into UE 4.10. BUT!