Fastest way to become a Ninja?

I’ve spent the last 2 days really getting stuck in with coding in UE4. So far i would say I have achieved barely anything.

A bit of background, I am a self taught OOP PHP programmer currently, but i have also built a couple of 2D games in C++ using SFML for visuals.

So my question to the community is; how do I become a Ninja UE4 Programmer?

Should I focus on book knowledge of C++, and study my C++ Primer 5th Edition like crazy?

Or should I just keep chipping away in the way that I am currently am?

Or can you suggest any other good methods for progression?

Are there any other good resources that offer UE4 programming info yet? I know its early in the life of UE4, but I feel I am struggling with context and methodologies. I can read API docs but it is the contextual application that is missing for me and its slowing me down loads. Its like i am fumbling in the dark.

Once I have reached Ninja Status, I will pay back to the community with Tutorial Vids, on all this stuff that is slowing me down at the moment. :smiley:

G.

I would recommend downloading the shooter game project and adding something new to it. Add a new weapon, fx, some player control change. This will force you to learn some part of the api and debug some ok code.

The ShooterGame would be a good recommendation, but I don’t believe it’s up to date.

I would start with your actual project, instead of learning just to learn that’s asking for a headache. Start with a blueprints project, you can always add C++ to the project later. Start with putting afeature into the kit that interests you most, like the a sidescroller. There are tons of resources, you don’t need a book. Here is a tutorial I grabbed randomly for sidescroller, it looks well put together, I have not followed it, but give it or something like it a shot. http://3dmotive.com/series/build-a-side-scroller-in-ue4.html

I wanna be a ninja too :smiley: