Fan rotation on key press

Hi all. It’s probably really straight forward, but I’m pretty new to blueprints. I have a rotating fan in my scene, but I’d like the ability to be able to switch the rotation on/off by pressing a key. I’ve attached a screenshot of my setup. Is there a quick easy way to do this? I’m also wondering if there is a way to fade the rotation in and out, as opposed to it going from zero to full speed in an unrealistic way. Appreciate any help!

All you need to do is searching for “UE4 Timeline” on youtube. It took me 10s to make it work (after watching the video).

AddRelativeRotation on your tick function, or as he said above, just use a timeline to drive a float that you can plug in to your rotational axis.

If he does it with float it makes basicly no sense. He can do a timeline with 0-1 and then take the output and multiply the float by 360 and will also work :slight_smile: Or just take the “Delta Seconds * 360” + “Fan Rotation Float” and just add the delta seconds*360 + fan rotation and then = set fan rotation = will make it spin BUT! if you stand in a lvl or if this fan is on your plane or character, it will end with a float of 9142014771024701.412 or something. So it’s better to do a timeline from 0-360 and set the fan rotation variable and loop it when it finished or make it 0-1 value and multiply the output by 360 and you get the same result, Except if you make 0-360 the numbers are so high that you can’t see 0-360 lol.

If it takes 10s to make, why not post a solution and waste time debating it instead?

It’s a Rotating Movement component in OP’s pic - no need for Tick. And *float *is perfect for this.