Failed to open map file. This is most likely because the map was saved with a newer version of the e

Hello, I’ve been working in UE4 for the past 3 years, experienced all sorts of bugs and errors but this is beyond anything.

I was working on the final touches for my archviz project (2months of work) when out of the blue when switching levels I get this error.

Obviously I don’t even own a newer version of the engine. 4.14 just came out today. ( could this be related even though I haven’t downloaded it?)

I have tried copying previous autosaves of the map and tried opening them. Most of them can’t even load assets at all and one of them from 2 weeks ago ( last time i’ve previously worked on this level) started loading but then stopped.

I have previous autosaves from 2 weeks ago and it still gives loading errors? Today I did nothing …NOTHING new except adjusting some materials. What amazes me is…IF indeed somehow the map file got corrupted WHY are the previous autosaves from 2 weeks ago corrupted also?

How can I fix this issue and recover my work?

Please help!

The only thing that I can think of was that I went out of hard disk space at that time. Could this be the cause, and if yes how to fix it?

Cmd: MAP LOAD FILE=“F:/Documents/Unreal Projects/MusicRow/Content/StarterContent/Maps/PoolDeck.umap” TEMPLATE=0 SHOWPROGRESS=1 FEATURELEVEL=3
LightingResults: New page: Lighting Build
LoadErrors: New page: Loading map: PoolDeck.umap
MapCheck: New page: Map Check
LightingResults: New page: Lighting Build
LogLinker:Warning: Unable to load package (F:/Documents/Unreal Projects/MusicRow/Content/StarterContent/Maps/PoolDeck.umap). Post Tag is not valid. File might be corrupted.

Hello, have you found a solution for this? i’m experimenting the same issue just now, and all my project seems to be lost…

No solution…my escape was that one of the older autosaves worked.