Extending controller

Hello, I’m trying to extend the controller from unreal engine.
The goal is, that I can later create controllers for the player and for my AI that share some functionality, using PlayerController and AIController from the engine.
However I’d like to avoid writing directly into the controller source code from unreal, since I’m not aware of how to avoid conflicts with engine updates.
What options do I have to achieve this? I’d also like to add that I’m new to c++ and therefore may haven’t seen some of the simple solutions.

Thanks in advance for your help :slight_smile:

1. Create a c++ class using the engine. I would pick Actor as parent class. Call this class CommonCtrlStuff (or whatever). Code whatever you need.
  2. Create a c++ class with AIController as parent, #include CommonCtrlStuff.h. Create a c++ class with PlayerController as parent, #include CommonCtrlStuff.h.

Your two latter classes should now have access to all the functionality you defined in CommonCtrlStuff.

If you’re into ECS, you could pick ActorComponent in step 1.

I used this trick (BlobComponent class #include BlahComponent.h) and it’s working fine.

Wow that was a fast response :smiley:
Does your method work too if I want to have common variables and if i want to later access the controller without having to cast them twice?

I tested it and since i couldn’t manage to put this actor that you suggested in a common parent class, while avoiding to change the source code, it didn’t work as intended.