Expert ADVICE - AMD or NVIDIA for games development?

Hi
I am a games developer and I am really confused which brand to choose like Should I go for AMD or NVIDIA?v=yG5dl_XEnckin this video it’s recommended to use NVIDIA.
I will be developing for PS4 and XBOX One and PC too.
What you guys think?
Thank you

Hi ,

I am not a expert or a programmer but i saw it last week , Core stream OpenCL vs core CUDA etc…
I hope its will help you a bit.

://create.pro/blog/open-cl-vs-cuda-amd-vs-nvidia-better-application-support-gpgpugpu-acceleration-real-world-face/

Well, I’m using a Nvidia and I recommend it. With a Nvidia you get access to Nvidia technologies (work only on Nvidias) and most amd technologies (source is open). However, consoles use amd’s.

And which NVIDIA GPU do you recommend?

Take a look at the specs in this thread: https://forums.unrealengine/showthread.php?20643-Official-Hardware-Performance-Survey There you can find many Nvidia Cards + how well it runs with the UE4

I personally use the nvidia gtx 660 ti which is cheap + powerful :slight_smile:

Wait for new nvidia gpu, if you can. Current one is big leap forward ie. GF980, but its worth waiting for next one it most probably will be perfected 980 in higher density process, so even less heat and probably faster clock. Or if you can afford get nvidia titan, or even better next titan card around september 2015. Games are going towards massive physics simulation, playing with physics is fun, so it would be nice to have some very good physics card, which titan is.

I would go AMD FX 8-Core for processor and Nvidia Graphics Card, something like GeForce GTX 660 upwards

Personally, I’ve used NVIDIA for a LONG , but I just recently switched out my GTX 660ti for an AMD 290x (Tri-Force OC).

It really is like night and day. I don’t know, I just enjoy the 290x a lot more (and I mean, it is advertised as a better card power-wise, so I would hope it performs better).