Expanding a landscape

How do you expand a landscape without stretching the terrain. I tried doing this by scaling, but everything just ended up getting stretched like I said, and I’m wondering if there is some other way I could do it.

Someone has to know what I am talking about…

sorry for that I’m not good at english very much…

is your question like this?qwerty.png

how about adding more components in manage landscaping tool while you adjust your terrain scale making more bigger?

I wish this answer could be useful to you…

Landscape tab -> Landscape Editor -> Add

2 Likes

Thanks, I tried that out it seems like it adds more sections on top of the currently existing landscape, and I don’t see a way for me to actually increase the area of the landscape that way. So I realized that I could just add an new landscape that equals in size to my current one, but don’t I have to seam the two landscapes together or something to make them one?

Are you talking about adding extra width/height to an existing terrain, Like adding to a canvas in a image app?
If so: I unfortunetly have not seen an option to do this, But I would like to know if you find a solution/workaround.

Yes, I tried adding a new landscape, but all that does is just sits a new landscape right next to the existing one they aren’t actually one. Although, I did try scaling, but any preexisting height information gets flattened, and if you set the z value to equal the X and Y, then it is no different than not scaling them at all. The only work around I found around this was by copying the entire landscape before, scaling the landscape, and then pasting, but I can’t seem to be able to copy the landscape properly. so some of these workarounds are a bit hit or miss. The only other issue I have is figuring out how to expand the scale of the of the UE4 skybox that came with the starter content as there is no way I can tell to alter the scale values.

I tried that it just stretches the terrain.