Exactly Emulating Real-Life Lighting Fixtures

I am a designer for an AVL (Audio - Video - Ligting) company. We design, install, and service theaters. churches and other large event venues. We have been using SketchUp to model spaces and show clients a 3d render of their current and new environments.

We are wanting to step up our game and use Unreal Engine to create more realistic environments.

The largest upside to UE is that we can put in “real” lights that mimic what we’re actually going to put in their building… spot lights look like spot lights, LEDs look like LEDs…

Most of the manufacturers that we use have IES profiles that we can use to recreate some of the looks of specific fixtures… but we want to take it a few steps further. We want to recreate the parameters of the lights as close as possible. Most manufacturers have VERY IN DEPTH information about the colormetrics and beam fallout and colors of their lights…

See THIS LINK from Chauvet:

https://www.chauvetprofessional.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/Ovation_H-55WW_Photometric_Reports-1.pdf

I am specifically interested in seeing if any of the information in the PDF correlates with any of the options in UE such as the attenuation radius or the inner and outer cone radius:

I can read the PDF and understand it… I can play with the sliders in UE, but how do I know if what I’m doing is accurate to the actual fixture?

Does anyone have any experience with this?

Thanks.

I had to model a light distribution with high accuracy once and used a spectral ray tracer for it. The result was imperceptibly close to the Rendering in UE with IES profile (in RGB - apples to apples) but that might not be true in general. Biggest discrepancies were indirect lighting effects.

Attenuation radius is not physically accurate, this should be a high value so the light follows the inverse square law.