Error setting Static mesh from child class

Hi everyone,

I am quite new to c++ coding and coding in ue4.
I am trying to make an Interaction system with item pickups in C++ using the following tutorial series:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HAhA…5ySJrFOqFgqzy-

I made a c++ class called Interactable and i made a child c++ class from that called Pickup.

when trying to set the static mesh in Pickup.cpp it gives me the following error:

1> Private\Pickup.cpp(10): error C2440: '=': cannot convert from 'TReturnType *' to 'USkeletalMeshComponent *'
1>          with
1>          
1>              TReturnType=UStaticMeshComponent
1>          ]
1> Private\Pickup.cpp(10): note: Types pointed to are unrelated; conversion requires reinterpret_cast, C-style cast or function-style cast

I make the Static mesh property in Interactable.h:

public:
    UFUNCTION(BlueprintNativeEvent)
    void Interact();
    virtual void Interact_Implementation();

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere, Category = "Interactable Properties")
    class USkeletalMeshComponent* InteractableMesh;

Then in Pickup.cpp i am trying to make it into an CreateDefaultSubobject but here it gives me the error.

Pickup.cpp:

APickup::APickup() {

InteractableMesh = CreateDefaultSubobject<UStaticMeshComponent>(TEXT("PickupMesh"));
    InteractableMesh->SetSimulatePhysics(true);
}

How can i fix this problem?

Thanks in advance!

It says, it can not convert from your **UStaticMeshComponent **to USkeletalMeshComponent which is set in your HEADER file
you have created it as

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere, Category = "Interactable Properties")     class USkeletalMeshComponent* InteractableMesh; 

So you need to create it as USkeletalMeshComponent, but not like UStaticMeshComponent. Please try this out!

or if you do not need it as a USkeletalMeshComponent you can change it to UStaticMeshComponent and then create it as a UStaticMeshComponent w/o issues

Thanks for the help!
Such a beginner mistake but i think everyone has them! :wink: