Epic at the Develop Conference in Brighton?

Now I might just have been hearing things (it happens) but I’m convinced I heard something about epic maybe doing something at the Develop conference. Now I’m new to games dev and have no idea what happens at things like this but i’m intrigued and want to maybe pop down and have a look.

I guess what I’m asking is a) will epic be there? and b) what normally happens at these things?

Many thanks

Nobody from Epic will be at Develop unless they are there attending as a customer.

3-500 quid is a lot of money to drop on attending an event if you don’t know what it is? Develop is a conference aimed at developers - you sit down in lectures and talks for three days.

More a case that I live close by and if anything was happening I’d go.

They have an indie dev ticket for the 10th at £110 which whilst isn’t cheap isn’t too unreasonable a price if it’s a good day out of the office.

The indie ticket only gets you into the Expo part of the building and the smaller indie dev sessions. It’s not a bad ticket, but it’s not a entry into the proper conference, which is possibly the best in Europe (it’s our equivalent of GDC). Most of the talks will be exceptionally good for anyone serious about game development :slight_smile:

Develop tickets are too expensive imo . I’d love to go one day but can’t afford them atm.

Renting a building with several rooms suitable for lecturing large numbers of people and housing displays (ergo capable of housing a few thousand people) is expensive. Then there’s the costs of getting people to deliver talks, as well as logistical ****. Develop isn’t that badly priced, it’s similar to GDC and way better value for money than the smaller conferences in the UK like GameHorizon (which was about 300 quid for only one developer track over two half days, IIRC).