EnhancedInput how to prevent both actions firing when using same key but one with a modifier?

I have an action for mouse LeftClick and then made a different chorded action for Shift+LeftClick, when the Shift+LeftClick action is performed in-game the LeftClick action also fires since it still detects a Left Click, how do you properly handle this with enhanced input in C++? Thank you for any help!

I don’t know if this is posible but you can try this:
Make a boolien check, if Shift key is pressed down = true, then when LeftClick run the code, if boolien = false on LeftClick, the run secound code.

That was my first thought as well, but the odd thing is the enhancedinput system doesnt appear to have a function to check for keypresses.

I know you use C++, and I’m not good with C++ myself, but I was able to do it in Blueprint, do you want an image of that Blueprint?

I appreciate it but the C++ implementation and options is completely different. Definitely very easy to do in Blueprints but I am stumped in C++ :confused:

I understand.

Maybe this will help you:

In Unreal Engine 5, using Enhanced Input, you can handle this by setting up input mappings with conditions that differentiate between plain LeftClick and Shift+LeftClick. The idea is to make sure that when you press Shift+LeftClick, the game doesn’t trigger the action assigned to just LeftClick.

Here’s how you can set up your input to handle this situation:

1. Define Your Input Actions: You need to have two separate actions defined in your project settings: one for LeftClick and another for Shift+LeftClick.
  2. Create Conditions for Actions:
  • For LeftClick, set a condition that it should only fire when Shift is not pressed.
  • For Shift+LeftClick, set a condition that it should only fire when Shift is pressed.
  1. Implementing the Code:
  • You’ll want to bind these actions in your character or controller class, implementing the respective C++ functions for each action.