Enemy healthbar is being shared by all enemies

I’m trying to create a diablo style “hovering over enemy shows their healthbar at the top” mechanic, I’ve got it mostly setup but it’s only showing the healthbar for one enemy even when hovering over another one.

2022-08-01 17-36-33.mkv (5.1 MB)

Hi there,
Get actor of class will not work if you have multiple actors in the level. It will pick a random one. You want to pick the exact reference of your enemy from the output Touched Actor.

1 Like

you are getting reference to a single actor from that class.

you would need reference to every actor of that class, or a specific one (like the one you are hovering over.)

How would you go about doing that? I’m still quite new to unreal and referencing is something i’m not too strong with.

do you have some logic already to do something when enemy is hovered?

if so, the on hovered event probably returns reference to the hovered actor. You can take that variable and pass it to the Get Percent function.

When you have a function selected look in the details panel, you can add an input. Just set an “actor object reference” as input, then when you call the function you can pass the reference in.

I’d share some pictures but i dont have my workstation right now. I’d be surprised if there isn’t some youtube video showing something just like this though, if you prefer to see visually what to do.

The first image is my event for when the mouse is hovered, would the Skeletal Mesh Ref I have be good to use for this? It’s set here. Or would it have to be something of the “Bind Event On Begin Cursor Over”?

Hi there,
It is hard to tell without the rest of your code, but try to get the “touched actor” instead.
Are you following a particular tutorial on this?

i’d use the Begin Cursor over event I think, because that should give referene to the actor.

Not sure how you are managing the widget though. Where does it live? Is it part of the enemy class blueprint?