Endless Runner - Rotate Camera Around Player

Hello all,

I’m fairly new to the unreal engine, and have spent the last while working through a number of the tutorials. Most recently I’ve worked through the Endless Runner tutorial, and I’d like to expand upon this with some new features and functionality, some of the which I’ve figured out others have me stumped.

My main sticking point at the minute is being able to rotate the camera around the player character with the mouse (eventually with a view to having the player to aim and shoot, with the pawn rotating his upper body to aim at the cursor) without affecting his direction of movement.

Everything I have tried so far hasn’t achieved what I’m going for. I either end up unable to move the camera with the mouse (or it’s instantly reset due to the way the tutorial is forcing a rotation for the player), or I try and change the way the player movement works by getting something other than the controller rotation, but in this case A and D turn the player rather than have him strafe.

To summarise what I’m aiming for is:

• Player moves forward at a constant speed and cannot change the direction he is running
  • A and D keys cause the player to strafe left and right
  • Mouse rotates the camera around the player, but does not change the direction he is moving in any way

If anyone could offer some advice or suggestions as to how I might best achieve this, I’d be very grateful.

Please assume the end of the Endless Runner tutorial is my starting point, and see attached some of the blueprints I’ve tried which haven’t been successful.

Disclaimer: This is my first post so if I’ve not explained myself particularly well or I’m missing some key info please let me know and I’ll resolve.

Thanks in advance

Best results you will get with separating character from camera.

To do so, you need understand how controls work in unreal:

• player controller gets all input (or should get it)