Editor Performance

My performance using the editor on Windows 8 is at 5-10 FPS in the viewport for the content example screens.

Machine Specs are:

i7-4770 3.4ghz (quad core)
16Gb of RAM
64-bit Windows 8
GeForce GT625

I’m new to Unreal. Is this normal? What can I do to improve it?

GT series graphics cards arent the best ones to work with graphics. I believe that GT 625 is the problem. :\

Edit: If you cant change the gfx now and still want a solution though, you can set quality settings to Low: Quick Settings > Engine Scalability Settings.

Thanks for the quick reply. Would you mind suggesting a graphics card that is under $500 that will work well?

Unfortunately one part of your PC is well under spec for running the engine, the minimum GPU requirement is a GTX 470, which is at minimum 4 times as fast as the GT 625.

If you want to upgrade, you can do it pretty cheap, or spend more for a faster card. At the lower end, the nVidia GTX 660 or a GTX 750 Ti are good cards. They vary from $150-$180 here in the US. If you want something stronger the GTX 760 is about 30% faster than a 660, it has $250 MSRP; the GTX 760 is the sweet spot for price and performance in the mid-high end market right now, I wouldn’t go above it unless you’re serious about running games on max settings. If you want to spend less you can find a 650 Ti Boost, which is pretty close to the 750 Ti, or maybe a used/refurbished 560 Ti/660/660 Ti. The 560 Ti is about 15% faster than the GTX 470. AMD cards have heavily inflated prices at every retailer in my country right now due to mining, so if you’re on a budget I don’t recommend any of them. The Radeon 270X would be the AMD card to begin with, it should around or a little faster than the 750 Ti.