Edit Plugin - no effect produced - How I achieve the results? Impossible to edit a string.

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Unreal and have experience with Unity and C++ (for different cases). However, I’m having trouble understanding how compiling (building) works in Unreal. To make even a small change to a C++ class and see the results in the game, I have to save everything, close Unreal and Visual Studio, open Visual Studio, run the Windows debugger, and then reopen Unreal. Only then can I play the game and see the changes I made, which seems too complicated.

Another issue I’m having is that when I close everything and reopen Unreal, it resets the scene to the default one for the project I created. I then have to go to the content folder and open the last map I saved after inserting the edited element in C++.

I realize that what I’ve written above is complicated, but I’m really struggling with even the simplest things in Unreal. Even when I follow online tutorials step by step, I can’t seem to achieve the same results easily. I always have to follow the same long process.

I said everything because I wanted to introduce you to my situation, Now I am going to describe what I need and I wrote in the title of this topic:

I was asked to develop a game with specific gameplay requirements and rules, and I was provided with a framework to use for building the game. Unfortunately I’ve never oversteppen this last request: import framework files into the project and use its method.