[EASY!] How would one slowly deplete or subtract a float variable?

So I’m assuming the fix for this is right under my nose, but I’m still learning BP. I’ve been making some good progress though with the help of the internet and community here.

So check this out…

As you can see, I have an InputAxis driving a thruster on a ship of mine to drive it forward. I also have “attempted” trying to set up an energy drain. When the energy drains I would like my ship to stop moving.

I tried to get it to stop for testing purposes by throwing in a branch with no luck.

How could I set this up so that while holding the inputaxis down, my energy slowly drains, and shuts off when it runs out? In my head the way I have it seems to make sense… but since it doesn’t work I’m a little confused. :slight_smile: Need a little guidance here.

I looks like you might just have the pins in the subtraction node around the wrong way. You currently have it as (0.25 - Energy), when you probably want (Energy - 0.25). If you swap them I think it should work.

The way you have it now, once energy goes below 0.25 the subtraction (0.25 - energy) is always going to be positive, so that branch will always come out true even with no energy.

Hey thanks! I actually JUST caught that like 30 seconds before I read your post. After I tested it, the energy is constantly draining now though! ?

I switched the pins and got the energy to drain… But now it’s automatically draining… How can I stop it? It’s exactly the same except with the pins switched as variss mentioned.

It seems that inputaxis is constantly firing even when I don’t actually press the buttons. Since my energy is constantly draining. I tried to plug in the axis value from the input, but that didn’t seem to do the trick.