Dynamic/scrolling skybox from 360 video? Sync video/texture to movement?

Hi all,

First post! I’m new to UE4, but am learning and loving it, and I’m here to stay. I’ve been reading everything I can, but am struggling to come up with one essential piece for my current project.

I’m trying to come up with methodology to make a scrolling skybox/skysphere. It’s beyond my discipline, and I’m wondering if anyone has ideas on how to accomplish this or if something similar has been done.

In essence, I would like to use a 360 panorama video as a skybox, and I would like the video playback to be synced to the camera/character position. Therefore, as the character moves forward/backward, the video frames play forward/backward - similar to how a side-scroller works, but with a video/skybox.
I’ve played with the idea of using video textures, but don’t know how I would sync them to movement efficiently. I could also load/unload texture frames, but I don’t know how I could do that efficiently with so many frames (replace texture at every step).

Perhaps I’m going about this completely wrong? Any help/ideas/direction on how to proceed would be greatly appreciated! Thanks for reading.

This should be really simple to set up. Basically you need to rotate the texture coordinates of a cubemap using a blueprint that reads your player’s forwards movement. Remember cubemap has 3d coordinates.

Use Cameravector as the UVs (might have to multiply some axis by -1 to flip). then use a RotateAboutAxis node. Use your cameravector as position, use 0,0,1 for NormalizedRotationAxis, use a ScalarParameter for RotationAngle, use 0 for pivotpoint.

Then take the result of that and add it back to the original input camera vector (rotate about axis is intended for use in worldposition offset which has to be re-added for relative offset).

The rotation is not in degrees, 0 will be no rotation, 1 will be a full 360.