"Dynamic" cave creation?

I’m starting to learn slowly UE4, having worked with other engines before i see alot of promise in this, but i wanted to do something i’ve never done before so i started out creating an outdoor scene, just doing some REALLY basic stuff to get my feet wet, i began making this cave

http://s24.postimg.org/qoj2vpd05/Untitled.png

As of now i have finished the cave, added a few other things, but the way i’m doing it, is using a single rock model, and rotating/positioning it in different ways to add some sort of variation. So my question to the community is, what is your…more optimized way of doing something like this? because with the small cave i’m sitting at more than 100 models alone just for the walls, there has to be a cleaner way at creating something like this while still remaining dynamic, i didn’t really want to create an entire cave in max and import because then i only have that one cave and cannot create others different from it…idk, just wanted to hear everyone’s thoughts on this

Well, you could always do what they did for Oblivion and create separate wall pieces for the insides of the caves for variation, then you could build a cave in the editor using the pieces, and add bigger rocks for variation. I think a lot of Unity dungeon builder packs did the same thing, just make some modular pieces you can snap together in the editor.

Using cave pieces like puzzle is a good, but old approach, i think its better to blockout the whole cave in dcc or using brushes and then work on the insides with ue.
Thats how i would to that probably.