Drilling into a mesh in gameplay

Hi Everyone,

I wanted to know if there is a way/option/tutorial on how to make a drillable mesh. I have seen the Voxel plugin, but it costs $350, and I am still relatively a complete beginner and don’t want to make such a purchase. I have also seen videos on using the fracture mode, but I am not sure how to implement it in the drilling simulation. My goal is to develop a dental simulator, so I need to make the tooth mesh drillable with the handpiece. I appreciate any assistance.

you can use dynamic mesh, for started look here for basic explanation

why not use the free voxel plugin?

Thank you for the suggestion. I feel like this is close to what I would like to do, and it’s definitely given me some ideas. The differences here are as follows:
1- I would like to have my own mesh (the tooth) to be the dynamic mesh and not a regular “Append Box” node
2- I would like to be able to calculate where the drill will hit this mesh and then accordingly subtract from it using the custom mesh of the drill. I do not want the tooth to randomly start getting destroyed every 0.25 seconds by another “Append Box” node.

I know these might sound like simple problems to overcome for a more knowledgeable person, but I am only a beginner. Thank you again for the suggestion and I would really appreciate if you could help me out with these problems.

I would, but the free version does not support voxelization of custom meshes. Do you know of any other alternatives?

This is pretty custom stuff. The fact that you can buy a paid-for version that does what you need for a few hundred dollars seems amazing to me – that’s a really great value!

It’s just that I have read that the documentation is not beginner-friendly and sometimes not even complete. I am only afraid to spend that much and not use it because of frustration.