Dreamstrata Thank You

Hello Unreal Engine community, this is Michael, someone who is sometimes online. I have been developing a game full-time in secrecy for nearly 4 years now. This thread will rise from the dead every so often when it is possible to say thanks to tidbits of knowledge that move the project forward. It would be huge if I started this right from the beginning because everything I know is from here, youtube, answerhubs, or the evangelists globally.

1 Like

A thank you goes out to the people involved in this thread back in 2014 : How to Edit Post Process Material Parameter . This is the kind of stuff you hope that there is already an answer for because despite there being nothing really new in terms of engine use, I never thought that this is how you would approach it in such a manner.

The goal is to use post processing to pixelate vision during the player’s ailment status. Just like how it was explained in the thread, a material was made, the dynamic material instance was assigned to the post process settings, and then the value oscillates using a looping timeline.

1 Like

While this is only the 3rd post to this thread, it is in spirit the 90,000th thank you. Just so that things are timely, I wanted to talk about engine 4.27 release, because it did two things that will not go unnoticed, because engine optimizations are not really announced in news feeds.

One thing that probably pained many of us is the deprecation of Initialize particle. That’s pretty rough when you have over 470 particle systems. I am still in the process of rummaging through the entire game and replacing the deprecated module with the new one since 4.27’s release date. Parameters are now unlinked and values are reset. It’s a nightmare. It sounds like a complaint, but the reality is that I understand why this update was made. Not from a engineering standpoint, but the fact that an open niagara editor window no longer decreases the framerate of play-in-editor anymore.