Don't know where to start learning UE4 programming !

Hi !

Just as the title says, I don’t know where to start learning UE4 programming.

I have good experience with C# as I used Unity before.

My problem with C++ is that it isn’t as simple as C#.

But, after following some C++ tutorials, I discovered that my problem isn’t with C++, it’s with UE4 itself !

UE4’s programming tutorials are outdated and/or the tutor just copies and pastes the code without explaining it !

Any ideas ?

Thanks in Advance

I’m just starting out as well, but I have a strong background with C++, as not only did I focus on this language when I was teaching myself to code, but the language is emphasized in my degree program. I bought a big Dummies book on the language and read it during many of my general courses in community college.

The API has helped me immensely but it’s pretty necessary to have a decent understanding of Unreal’s structure / editor before it’ll help you, and honestly I would really suggest getting to know C++ before mixing it with Unreal. Learning both at once isn’t advisable. This is because game engines (at least both Source and UE4) tend to use every language feature in the book to accomplish what they need. Not knowing how those features work is going to make it really difficult for you.

Unreal doesn’t seem particularly hard, it’s just new and unfamiliar and there is a bit of an information gap since so much of Epic’s tutorials focus on Blueprints exclusively. That being said the way things are done in Blueprints are similar. So there’s that.

I don’t have a straight answer for you, try-fail-ask, try-fail-ask, etc. I’ve learned a hell of a lot this way. Sure it’s not fun, but it works and eventually the frequency of the try-fail-ask cycle tends to slow as it all starts to make sense.

Bug me on Skype if you want to chat, seeing as we’re both newcomers.

I started looking into ue4 a month ago.
The way I have made things work is google->old posts->fix outdated code.