Do my hardware specs meet the minimum requirements for UE4?

Hi,

I’m a game designer and am very eager to get my hands on UE4. The problem is, I don’t own a desktop computer and probably won’t for some time because I can’t afford one. I have a 2010 Macbook Pro that I acquired by attending Full Sail University. I ran UDK on it through college (I have Windows 7 installed as a partition) just fine, but I understand UE4 is much more powerful.

I know the recommended requirements are:

Desktop PC or Mac
Windows 7 64-bit or Mac OS X 10.9.2 or later
Quad-core Intel or AMD processor, 2.5 GHz or faster
NVIDIA GeForce 470 GTX or AMD Radeon 6870 HD series card or higher
8 GB RAM

My question is, what are the minimum requirements?

My specs are:

MacBook Pro 15" 2010
Mac OS X 10.9.2
2.66 GHz Intel Core i7
Intel HD Graphics 288 MB
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3

Would I be able to get by with this?

I don’t think you’ll be able to get by with that graphics card, seems to be pretty low. You’re probably going to want at least 8GB RAM too.

Yea I figured the graphics card was the weak point:/

I feel your pain. I had to upgrade my PC when I got UE4. Was fine for UDK, but next gen requires a bit more especially for development. Fortunately I only had to upgrade my graphics card. Good luck though. =)

The specs you quoted from Epic’s site are what they recommend as the minimum for game development. “Minimum” is misleading since just getting the engine to run doesn’t mean you’re actually going to be able to do anything productive at 4 FPS.