DMX Tech Inside Unreal Engine Used In A Music Video For Shaq(DJ Diesel) & Soltan

It’s funny how there are so many great technologies inside Unreal Engine and they’re not mainstreamed or well-known among users. Just opening up the Engine Folder alone and looking into the files can help understand how big UE actually is, and why it’s +40GB when downloading it from Epic Games.

Uploading: 7.png…

I’m a beginner in UE and every time I want to do something, the whole assets are right there in the Engine Folder and I can use them all.

I was fortunate to make the music video for the song "Romany Adventures " by DJ Diesel(Shaquille O’Neal) and Soltan from the Gorilla Warfare album.
DMX technology inside Unreal Engine made it possible for me to make a whole virtual scene according to the theme of the song and have the stage festival lighting inside that virtual scene. Everything from Pyro, moving head, lasers, etc was in the DMX folder with all the 3D assets and blueprints! There were even 3D models for creating the stage as well, and I didn’t even need to go out of the program and find and download those assets and then import them and material, texture and make blueprint…all that. It was all ready to use :slight_smile:

This was while using Nanite for the huge landscape and assets imported from Quixel and Sketchfab to make the forest and having that big stage with all the DMX lights working in real-time inside the engine within the sequencer! That’s crazy.

Uploading: 3.png…
Uploading: 4.png…
Uploading: 5.png…

Truly inspiring technology right there and free and I’m super grateful for it.
Thank you, Tim Sweeney and Unreal Engine team for making this all possible.

you can watch the full music video here:
DJ Diesel & Soltan - Romany Adventures (Music Video)

6 Likes

Here are the images that didn’t upload:

3 Likes

Nice!

1 Like

Hey there @zhixoworld !! First, let me welcome you to the forums here! We’re excited to see you and thrilled to see the projects you showcase.