Discussion around the limitations of Blueprint

Hello everyone :slight_smile:

I’m a Game Designer and a Blueprint Developer for a small indie team. We’re currently working on a game and I would like to discuss a bit about my experience using Blueprints, the limits I’ve found to it and some potential way to play around them that some other users might have found.

I don’t know if it is the right place to post that but I feel like my little experience might be useful to other developers.

We’re developing the game with both Blueprint and C++ (I’m working with a programmer) and most of our issues don’t come from the communication between the two of them but from Blueprint itself. It is a multiplayer (2), first person game.

Here are the limitations I’ve encountered:

Overriding limitations
Let’s say I have a WeaponClass, a PlayerWeaponClass child of WeaponClass and GreedyWeaponClass child of PlayerWeaponClass.
WeaponClass has a “Shoot Event”. If I override it on PlayerWeaponClass, I can’t override it on GreedyWeaponClass (it returns a compilation error).

Loosing Track of Child Blueprints
Let’s say I have a PlayerWeaponClass and 10 different childs of this class (Shotgun, Riflegun or whatever). I have a PlayerCharacter that has a “WeaponToEquip” variable in which I reference the weapon I’d like to spawn. From time to time, the Editor won’t show my 9 other child classes in the dropdown menu used to choose the variable value and it will only show the weapon type previously referenced. I have to manually open all child weapons in the editor to finally be able to select one of them.

Loosing Instanced Values
From time to time, the editor crashes in-game because of a C++ error. It makes all of my instanced variables values go back to their class value. It also happens whenever I get to change my project name (which happens quite often since I’m versioning almost 5 times a day).

Differences of behavior between 2 launches