Disable forced zooming on camera?

Yo. Complete noob here. Here’s the problem:

I’m making a 3D tactical RPG with free camera movement. I want to be able to fly over the characters with the camera, without the camera leaping forward to look past them. My camera pawn is a camera attached to a spring arm attached to an invisible sphere (I followed a Youtube series on how to make a functioning RTS camera). I also successfully managed to get the sphere to climb hills. I know I could just set the invisible sphere to fly above their heads, but I want the sphere set low so I can get those cinematic camera angles. If I could outright turn the forced zooming thing off, that would be cool. If I could set it to ignore certain actors, that would be very cool.
Thanks in advance.

You can either set actors’ collision to ignore camera, or change the collision settings of the spring arm itself.

It looks like the spring arm is detecting collision with the other pawns. I recommend changing it to ignore pawns. (in the collision settings - you may have to use Custom collision instead of a preset, or find a preset you like) Then the landscape will still keep the camera from passing through it, but it won’t jump in and out when it passes through nearby pawns.

Thanks for the answer. Like I said, I’m a complete noob… so how might I go about creating custom collision for my spring arm? The only option under Collision in the details panel for my spring arm is “Can Ever Affect Navigation”. There is another group called Camera Collision, which includes options for “Probe Size”, “Probe Channel”, and “Do Collision Test” (turning this one off eliminates the initial problem, but then my camera passes through the terrain). There is no clear way to apply a preset or a custom collision.

That’s a good point - the problem might not be quite as simple as I thought, if it’s only letting you choose to collide on Visibility or Camera trace channels, instead of on Object Types like I was thinking.