Disable double jump

Hi you passionate bunch of people!

I am still fairly new to Unreal Engine and have run into an issue following this guide (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0f6DwB78l8) to set up a simple sphere control. With the jump function I run into the issue of being able to press space continously and then “fly” with the sphere.

Someone in the comments of the video suggested adding a Do Once node before the Impulse, which I did … just to have my sphere jump once now and then disable the possibilty of jumping.

Where have I effed up my blueprint? And is there a way to reset this when the character has landed on the ground again?

Thanks a lot!

Best regards
Christian

Triggered fires every frame. Use Started if you want a single action. You may need more force, though. Or tick Vel Change on the Add Impulse node.

And is there a way to reset this when the character has landed on the ground again?

You may still want this; there is, indeed OnLanded event that could reset the DoOnce.

And is there a way to reset this when the character has landed on the ground again?

Btw, the character class already has Jump functionality. Are you actually using a character class, though? We see you attempt to bounce a ball.

One simple way is to check for detection is to detect based on event hit and “storing” a jump. When the player hits the ground it is activated back to true.

Triggered fires every frame. Use Started if you want a single action. You may need more force, though. Or tick Vel Change on the Add Impulse node.

This didn’t help unfortunately.

You may still want this; there is, indeed OnLanded event that could reset the DoOnce .

I am not getting any OnLanded events when looking through the nodes.

Btw, the character class already has Jump functionality. Are you actually using a character class, though? We see you attempt to bounce a ball.

Yes, I am farily sure I am using a character class. I followed the video I linked to.