Disable an Actor

Hi there, I’m both new to Unreal Engine as well as C++ (mostly, let’s just go with new).

Coming from a Unity background, I am wondering if there is a way to disable an actor (rendering, physics, tick, etc.) and it’s components/children in a simply manner to be enabled again at a later stage. Unity, for example, has gameObject.SetActive(bool), is there an equivalent function or would I have to work around it?

Regards.

Hey!

‘bActive’ is the bool. You should disable tick on this actor while you deactivated it (like ‘SetComponentTickEnabled(false);’). I’m not 100% sure, but i think there is a toggle-function for all this (like the ‘ToggleVisibility()’-function).

When you have another question, let us know it! :slight_smile:

Sincerely

EDIT: i’m also pretty new to UE4 (and come from Unity like you) so i don’t give a assurance for my answer. ^^

Thanks a lot, I will give it a try.

SetActorHiddenInGame(true) will hide all components and SetActorEnableCollision(false) will disable collision on all components.

Just to note, this question seems to imply that setting an actor to hidden should disable the actor tick and all component ticks. Is that what should be happening because that hasn’t been my experience? I’ve set an actor to be hidden using SetActorHiddenInGame(true), but the actor tick continued as did the components tick. I then SetActorTickEnabled(true) in addition to hiding but this didn’t stop the components tick, I had to set components to not tick separately.

So, for clarification, if we want to disable an actor completely (ticks, collision, rendering, etc) what is the correct way to go about this?

Cheers,

I know that this is an old question, but it looks like it’s gone unanswered since then. How do you effectively completely disable (temporarily) an actor so that it doesn’t tick, generate collision events and it’s actually hidden?