Disable ALL VR Plugins by Default

Now, I am a VR dev, and for the most part, it works just fine for me sometimes. However, I don’t always work on VR games. And it’s just a little annoying having SteamVR or OculusApp pop up everytime I open up a project.

The solution is easy, just disable the plugins every time we start a new project. But, let’s be real. most of the devs aren’t doing VR projects to start with. So why are they even enabled by default? We need a cleaner Editor for new projects. There’s a ton of stuff (c + rap filtered out really?) that have no business being on by default, especially in the Plugins section.

#ReduceTheBloat

Thanks.

2 Likes

+1. Disable all VR plugins by default. I do not develop for VR nor have intention to do so. Yet for example when building linux dedicated server VR plugins add dependencies to build. For what reason, I can’t fathom.

This is still an issue in 4.20. It seems crazy that Oculus VR and Steam VR are enabled by default. Surely they should be set to disabled as the default engine setting, and enabled on a per-project basis if that project uses VR. And this is coming from someone who develops in VR a lot.

I agree, everytime I start a new project I first have to disable all these unnecessary plugins, like all those for mobile dev or things like the Speedtree importer. I’m not using any of these, why is it enabled?

It would be much better if, while creating a new project, I get a list where I choose which plugins I WANT to enable - and only the necessary plugins that everyone needs are enabled by default.

Yup, having to go in and disable, restart the editor every single time is extremely annoying especially if you forget to do it and need to shut down all the VR apps and wait for the screen to come back. At least give us the ability to set defaults.

Hey folks - this is on our radar to fix for ya :slight_smile:

Thank you Amanda! I hope you can make it for the next version, 4.21? That would be awesome!