Directional Jumping (Blendspace & Anim BP)

I’m not sure why I’m just now getting around to saying hello on the forums, but - Hello!

This is my first post on the Unreal Forums! Professionally I’m a Lighting Artist but in my spare time I’ve been developing my own game. I’m currently struggling with something in isolation and I figured it was time to ask for some help!

I have a character that floats above the ground and leans into directions for movement. I’d like to get the character jumping and continuing that direction and momentum. For prototyping gameplay, it has always been acceptable for the “Idle” jump to play, but now that things are moving along, I’d like to make this feel more fluid and elegant.

I created a Jump Blendspace using the same parameters as the Movement blend where X Axis is ‘Direction’ (-180 to 180) and Y Axis is ‘Speed’ (Idle to max speed)

Here’s how the Speed & Direction floats are set up in the Anim BP I’m working with (which I feel is pretty standard):

When the blends replace the single animations in the state machines they don’t work very well. I think the ‘Direction’ parameter might be working as I seem to get the Forward, Left, Right Animations but the ‘Speed’ parameter seems to be the issue.

I’d like to jump in place when I’m Idle/0 speed, and then use my Directional jumping animations when I’m moving in those directions. I’m starting to wonder if I need a 1D Jump Blendspace for direction and some kind of parameter that helps calculate acceleration/speed that will play the “in place” animation if the player is at 0 or will play the Blendspace if the player is above 0.

I feel like I’m SO close but just missing a small detail. Any help or insight would be amazing including light pats on the back, hand holding, and images because I’m pretty bad with this stuff!

Good morning everyone! I’ve got an update on this!

I’ve updated the Event Graph in the Anim BP to get a “Is Moving” boolean. Here’s how that was accomplished, pretty simple: